Homemade Granite Cleaner

 granite-rose2

I’m all about saving money with homemade granite cleaner these days, and I could no longer justify paying almost $6 per small bottle of Method grainte cleaner, which lasted me about two weeks per bottle and did not disinfect.  The following recipe is the one I’ve had great success with over the past few months, costs pennies per bottle that I mix, and disinfects. 

  • Clean, empty spray bottle
  • 1 C. rubbing alcohol
  • 1/2 C. water
  • About 12 drops dish detergent (I use Dawn)
  • Optional: essential oil of your choosing

Measure/funnel rubbing alcohol and water into spray bottle.  Add dish detergent and 1-2 droppers full of essential oil (I like geranium).  Shake to mix well and put to good use.  You can use paper towels, but I do recommend a lint-free cloth used to dry glasses.  I wash my cloth once a week in hot water and do not use any type of fabric softener.  Let me know how this works for you, or if you have a suggestion.  Here’s to sparkling counters!

25 Comments »

  1. 1
    Nikia Says:

    thanks for the cleaner receipe. i’ve been reading around about homemade cleaners & had one site suggest that you would only need about 5% alcohol in your cleaner. Have you tried to use less alcohol?

  2. 2
    Jen Says:

    Hi Nikia- Thanks for stopping by. I’ve not tried using less alcohol, simply because I’ve not had time to research and understand at what rate is the alcohol so diluted that it is ineffective as a disinfectant. If you are comfortable using less, I say go for it! Something I have done to cut the antiseptic smell is to add a few drops of essential oil to the mixture. Happy cleaning!

  3. To keep your granite shining long lasting, you must be regularly clean up and roughly dusting of granite worktops. Do not use too much cleaner or soap, as sometimes it may leave a film and cause some irregular lines on worktops.

  4. Hi, Thanks for sharing your homemade cleaner recipe. I am sure that it will work and i am going to try it soon. Bye

  5. I really like what you guys are up too. Such clever work and reporting!
    Keep up the awesome works guys I’ve you guys to our blogroll.

  6. This is very interesting, You’re a very skilled blogger. I’ve joined your feed and look forward to seeking more of your wonderful post.
    Also, I have shared your web site in my social networks!

  7. I leave a response whenever I like a post on a website or I have something to valuable to contribute to the conversation. It
    is caused by the sincerness displayed in the post I read.
    And on this post Homemade Granite Cleaner | The Simple Life.
    I was actually moved enough to drop a commenta response ;)
    I do have a few questions for you if you don’t mind.
    Could it be only me or does it appear like a few of the remarks look like coming from brain dead people? :-P And, if you are writing at other social sites, I would like
    to keep up with everything fresh you have to post. Could you make a list all of your communal pages like your twitter feed, Facebook page
    or linkedin profile?

  8. What’s up colleagues, good piece of writing and good arguments commented here, I am genuinely enjoying by these.

  9. I’ve been surfing online more than three hours today, yet I
    never found any interesting article like yours.
    It is pretty worth enough for me. Personally, if all
    webmasters and bloggers made good content as you did, the internet will be a
    lot more useful than ever before.

  10. I’m really loving the theme/design of your blog. Do you
    ever run into any internet browser compatibility
    problems? A few of my blog visitors have complained about my blog not operating correctly in Explorer
    but looks great in Opera. Do you have any ideas to
    help fix this problem?

  11. This particular kind of doorway bell be placed by you
    everywhere of your house however whilst putting this kind of
    kind of front door bell something that you should take into consideration is basically that
    you just need to put the wifi doorbell because
    spot to enable you to definitely just hear the sound of your bell.
    35K resistor across these pin-outs shunts the IC to the above gain. In today’s day and age,
    nothing could be further from the truth.

  12. 12
    Jolie Says:

    Thanks for sharing your thoughts. I really appreciate your efforts and I
    will be waiting for your further write ups thank you once again.

  13. constantly i used to read smaller articles which also clear their motive, and that
    is also happening with this article which I am reading here.

  14. 14

    What’s up to every one, it’s in fact a pleasant for me to pay a quick vsit this
    site, it consists of priceless Information.

  15. 15

    Hi, I would like to subscribe for this weblog to get most
    recent updates, thus where can i do it please assist.

  16. 16
    Efren Says:

    Wonderful site. A lot of helpful information here. I’m sending it to a
    few pals ans additionally sharing in delicious. And certainly, thank you
    on your effort!

  17. 17

    Hi there to every body, it’s my first pay a quick visit of this blog; this web site includes awesome and truly excellent
    stuff for readers.

  18. Useful info. Lucky me I found your web site by accident, and
    I am stunned why this accident did not came about in advance!
    I bookmarked it.

  19. 19

    Hey There. I found your blog using msn. This is a really well written article.
    I will make sure to bookmark it and come back to read more
    of your useful information. Thanks for the post. I’ll certainly return.

  20. Howdy! This is my 1st comment here so I just wanted to give a quick shout out
    and tell you I really enjoy reading through your posts.

    Can you recommend any other blogs/websites/forums that deal with the same topics?
    Thanks a ton!

  21. 21

    anh xe bmw

    Homemade Granite Cleaner | The Simple Life

  22. 22

    cho oto tphcm

    Homemade Granite Cleaner | The Simple Life

  23. 23

    xe toyota vios

    Homemade Granite Cleaner | The Simple Life

  24. ban xe bmw chay luot

    Homemade Granite Cleaner | The Simple Life

  25. […] Homemade Granite Cleaner | The Simple Life – Jan 12, 2009 · I’m all about saving money with homemade granite cleaner these days, and I could no longer justify paying almost $6 per small bottle of Method grainte …… […]


RSS Feed for this entry

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

